Pretty in Pink: Lavender Lemonade

I just got home from my first year of college. Did I just say that? I feel an array of emotions but mostly those of contentment. Months of worrying about what college would be like have melted away. Classes were hard, and it was difficult adjusting to a new lifestyle but overall I am quite thrilled with how I did. What I am not thrilled about? Spending a summer at home away from the place I considered home for an entire year.

To try to ease myself into living back at home I decided to make a favorite drink of mine from a local restaurant at school. Twisted Soul is a food concept restaurant that turns out delicious, and unique flavors. Usually it is a must stop for their delicious Corn and Goat cheese Empanadas or their Smokey BBQ Tofu Arepas but today I am letting their special drink take front and center, Lavender Lemonade with Thai Basil Seeds.

It is an interesting combination of herbal aromatics and subtle gelatinous texture with a slightly sugary bite. It might sound different, but overall it really works. The lavender infused lemonade is curiously familiar yet exotic. The basil seeds, which I originally thought were kiwi seeds, might be a little weird at first but the texture is like that of small tapioca and is pretty fun. I did not ask for the recipe but instead decided to try to recreate what I have fallen in love with in just one short year. My version is definitely more vivid color wise and makes the drink look like pink lemonade. In the future if I want to make pink lemonade (say for Mother’s Day) I will go to this recipe, as it is an example of natural food coloring.

For more information on Twisted Soul visit, http://www.twistedsoulconcepts.com/

 Lavender Lemonade with Basil Seeds

[For a decent pitcher of sweet tangy goodness]

  •     1 1/2 cups of white sugar
  •     1/3 cup of lavender buds
  •     1 cup of fresh lemon juice (about four or five)
  •     1/4 cup of fresh lime juice (about one)
  •     8 cups of water
  •     1 Tablespoon of Thai Sweet Basil Seeds *
  1. Bring the water and sugar to a boil in a large saucepan.
  2. Once the water and sugar mixture has boiled remove the saucepan from the heat.
  3. Combine the lemon and lime juice with the lavender. Combine with the water and sugar syrup and let cool to room temperature.
  4. Once cooled, strain and chill.
  5. In the meantime combine a tablespoon of the basil seeds with enough water to cover the seeds in a bowl. The seeds will plump up on their own.
  6. To assemble: Put ice in a glass, top with spoonfuls of the seeds and pour the lemonade over top.

*Order Thai Sweet Basil Seeds from Amazon.com here [The shipping was incredibly quick and the quality is good too]

Leave a Reply

