Fruit Goes Savory: Strawberry Ginger Chicken

I can’t stand not trying everything on a menu. It goes up there with my other pet peeves like the toilet seat staying up in the dorm bathroom or a shower without hot water. I just don’t want to do it.

With so many (usually) wonderful options on a restaurant menu deciding on just one thing is incredibly frustrating. Should I get the pasta or the fish? I had some seafood for lunch, but I can’t keep my eyes off of the Mussel dish. Maybe I want meat but we’re having a barbeque tomorrow. I’ll probably eat a steak then. I can always go with some appetizers, but is that enough?

The dilemma can go on forever until I just order the first thing I see when the waiter or waitress leans over looking at me. This issue never haunts one person in my life and that would be my sister. My sister is a simple creature when it comes to food. She likes strawberries and blueberries and sometimes chicken. So when she looks at a menu it is more of a scavenger hunt rather than a puzzle.

This is what inspired me to try to make a dish she would eat. I came up with an idea for strawberry chicken for her love of both ingredients. I snuck in some other flavors and I cannot say I had trouble making her eat it. She ate an entire chicken breast and claims she will eat it again. I say that this is one job well done. Try this for your own picky eater. The strawberries on top are hard to resists and the other ingredients cook down so they are not the focal point. The chicken will come out juicy and have a pleasant flavor that is not too sweet but just right.

I think it should please your picky eater and if it doesn’t who cares?

That means more for you.

Strawberry Ginger Chicken

  •     Chicken, two breasts and four thighs
  •     2 tablespoons olive oil
  •     1 tablespoon balsamic vinegar
  •     1 teaspoon cinnamon
  •     Zest of one lemon
  •     1 medium onion, diced
  •     2 tablespoons fresh ginger, diced
  •     3 cloves of garlic, crushed
  •     1 Serrano pepper, chopped
  •     ½ cup Strawberry-Rhubarb Preserves, Sarabeth brand preferred
  •     7 strawberries, sliced

1. Marinate the chicken pieces in the olive oil, balsamic vinegar, cinnamon and zest of one lemon for at least half an hour.

2. In a pan on medium heat, heat a little bit of olive until it is slightly smoky. Add the onion, ginger, garlic and pepper and sauté until the vegetables cook down and the onions are golden brown. This may take ten minutes or so. Make sure to not let the vegetables burn.

3. Once the vegetables are cooked add in the preserves and mix to combine. Cook down for another minute or two.

4. Preheat an oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit. Place the chicken pieces onto a foil lined baking sheet. Spoon the onion and preserve mixture on top of each piece of chicken. Make sure the top of the chicken is covered in the mixture. Place the strawberries in a layer on top of the chicken.

5. Bake in the oven for fifty minutes. Serve with some herbed scented rice or tender butter peas.

Leave a Reply

