Photographer Crush: Matthew Brandt

I wish I could say I discovered him on my own, but I can’t.

What I can say is that I love Brandt’s prints too much to just leave them on my computer. They would be perfect all lined up on a white wall, no? I think I just found the artwork that is going to go up on my dorm room wall. I have a whole collection of yellow frames filled with images from artists I admire and I am working on what I call my “collection” wall filled with objects I horde from the year, but there is one spot that is needing some love. I think a bunch of these prints would add some colorful “serenity”.

Brandt has many series but “Lakes and Reservoirs” is my personal favorite. He captures color photographs of different lakes and reservoirs and uses the water that is in the location to develop the print. Instead of the typical gorgeous landscape this work goes further. The subject itself contributes to the medium, blurring the lines between the medium and the message. What results is the character of the space, the speckles and blurred images add life to what would otherwise be static prints.

Visit http://www.matthewbrandt.com/photographs/lakes-and-reservoirs/ to see more, but as usual check out my favorites below!

Leave a Reply

