Need to See It: Citizen Dog (2004)

I just completed a final research paper for my film class which means that class is almost over! This is kind of sad because I feel like there is so much more to learn. I wrote about Czech cinema (see my post on Chytilová’s Daisies!) and realized there is much more to discover that we could not get to in the entire year. So I decided a couple weeks ago that I want to watch all, if not most, of the Oscar winners for best Foreign Language Film this summer. It is going to be fun! With summer plans now cemented, I cannot wait for summer to begin. Get ready to read all about it.

So in honor of my last week of film class here is the opening clip from a film we watched today. Directed by Wisit Sasanatieng (and I thought Salshutz was a mouthful…) this film comes from Thailand. It is playful in both structure and color, about a young man who moves from the rural part of the country to the city to discover life and love. It has a different feel than most films, and is a bit silly, but it is a film that reflects the culture’s filmic style of navigating the tensions between the rural and urban as well as animism. Not the only representation of Thai cinema, but a unique one.

One thought on “Need to See It: Citizen Dog (2004)

  1. If you like Thai horror movies then you should definitely check out this site where you can watch Thai movies online for free. There is a great collection of Thai lakorn, Thai comedy and horror movies.

Leave a Reply

