Happy 1st Birthday: Chocolate Birthday Whoopie Pies

If you told me a year ago that I would still be posting, fairly regularly for a college student on my blog, I would not believe you.

About a year ago I went out on a limb and started the first version of this website. Bored with the summer, the only logical step was to immerse myself in something. Anything, actually. But it’s a good thing that I chose to blog. I’m now happy to say that this weekend marks the first birthday of the website.

See the thing is, the only way I know how to celebrate birthdays is to eat cake. But then again, I don’t like to follow recipes necessarily. Something needs to be different, even if it is the simplest or tiniest bit of a recipe. So naturally I decided to kill two birds with one stone. I wanted something that resembled cake and I have been meaning to make my own whoopie pies. Chocolate birthday whoopie pies. Simple, but exactly just what I wanted to make “whoopie” of the big day. Enjoy these to celebrate anything: a birthday, a holiday, even a Tuesday. Does not matter, just don’t keep them around longer than a day or two. But I doubt I needed to ask you to do that…

Chocolate Birthday Whoopie Pies

[via dulcedough.com with a Birthday touch]

For the Cakes:

  • 1/2 cup butter, softened
  • 1 cup dark brown sugar, firmly packed
  • 1 egg
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup cocoa powder
  • 1 1/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup buttermilk

For the Filling:

  • 8 oz. cream cheese, softened
  • 1/2 cup butter, softened
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 3 cups confectioners’ sugar

To make it special:

  • multi-colored nonpareils
  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees Fahrenheit and cover a sheet pan with parchment paper or a Silpat baking mat.
  2. In a large bowl, beat butter and sugar until light and fluffy with electric beaters. Add egg and vanilla, beat until well combined.
  3. In a separate bowl, sift together the flour, cocoa powder, baking soda, and salt. (this step will make all the difference, trust me!)
  4. Alternate adding the dry ingredients and the buttermilk to the mixture and mix until combined.
  5. Using a small ice cream scoop, place the batter onto the sheet pan with space between each whoopie pie half.
  6. Bake for 8-10 minutes or until the top of the cakes spring back when touched.
  7. Allow cakes to cool for five minutes, then remove from pan and allow to cool completely before filling.
  8. To make filling, cream together the cream cheese, butter and vanilla; sift in the powdered sugar and beat until smooth.
  9. To assemble whoopie pies, use a spoon to scoop the filling on one cake and then top with another cake. Repeat with all of the cakes.
  10. To make the whoopie pies even more special, gently pick up the pie, turn to the side, and while turning the pie coat with the nonpareils.
One thought on “Happy 1st Birthday: Chocolate Birthday Whoopie Pies

  1. Pingback: Thoughts on a 300th Post | Emily Salshutz

Leave a Reply

