All Things Around: Weekend Edition

This past weekend was pretty stellar, so much so that I want to take you all through the food memories. It’s kind of embarrassing, but my camera is filled with shots of food. (That and pictures of my dog…) Go figure, but I like to keep track of what I like so I can recreate my favorite treats in the future.

For the Olympic opening ceremony we celebrated America with some apple pie. Of course it is not a traditional pie, but it was unique and quite affordable for its good looks.

During the summer, Vassar College and New York Stage and Film present a summer series of productions ranging from new readings to Broadway hopefuls. On Saturday we spent the entire day at Vassar (Oh, I miss it so!) and saw two amazing productions. The first one, The Power of Duff, featured Greg Kinnear and Jennifer Westfeldt. It was excellent, but at night we saw Murder Ballad which was INCREDIBLE. I am still humming songs from the show.

But a trip to my collegetown would not be right without my favorite eats. For lunch we shared paninis from Rossi’s Deli, a new favorite that serves giant sandwiches on crispy homemade focaccia with ingredients like smoked mozzarella, grilled peppers, and italian meats. With its proximity to campus, dinner at Babycakes Cafe was a no brainer. With my favorite appetizer, goat cheese rounds with honey, to start and a chocolate decadence for dessert, more than just the performances sang that day.

Despite the rainclouds on Sunday, I met up with a  friend and enjoyed brunch in the city at Café Habana, a true gem in SoHo. Not only do they serve up a sick menu, the prices are killer for the NYC. We shared the Mexican grilled corn, and I had the chilaquiles verdes con pollo, with tons of crema and cotija cheese on top. It was a busy weekend, but   delicious.

Leave a Reply

